I Have Returned!

Hello from sunny England! Yes, I am back in the UK and my time studying and travelling in the US has come to an end. I’ve been very busy in the last 6 weeks and my original plan was to blog from my phone on the road. However my phone is so old it can barely post a photo on instagram without crashing several times so attempting to use the wordpress was painfully slow. Think dial up internet speeds then half it. So posting from my phone was too irritating to handle, hence the blog silence.

I have to say, being without a laptop for 6 weeks was liberating! During my last few weeks at Marist it felt like 80% of the time I was awake, I was looking at a screen of some kind trying to get all of my assignments done on time. Whilst I was travelling I didn’t always have cell service because we were in the mountains or the desert and I just became used to not looking at my phone and I loved it. We were doing so much during the day that by the time I got into bed I barely had enough energy to set an alarm for the morning without falling straight to sleep, let alone wasting time scrolling through social media sites.

I’ve been home for 6 days now and it’s been a bit strange adjusting back to England. Before flying home, I spent two weeks in NYC in two different hotels. I spent 3 weeks before that travelling the West Coast and I usually spent 1 night in each hotel, 2 nights at the most. So being back in England feels nice but it also feels like I’m going to be leaving in a couple of days for another city or town. It’s silly because I know I’m staying in Basingstoke but it just doesn’t feel particularly permanent right now. Saying that, it’s been great seeing friends and family and I look forward to this weekend where I get to see more people that I haven’t seen in a long time (some of whom are newly graduated!).

I’ve had the most amazing year in the States; I’ve seen some incredible places, met some awesome people and had experiences that I’ll never forget. I am definitely not finished with America, who knows maybe I’ll head out there to work some day. I definitely intend on travelling and exploring some more. The Aston students who will be heading out to Marist in just a few weeks are in for a great year!

I’ll sign off with a photo from my last night in America. More blog posts to come soon!

DSC02849

Sophie x

Leave a Reply

