Day Pyjamas

Pyjamas are clothes that we wear to sleep in, right? But the thing about revision and coursework deadlines as a uni student is that it blurs the lines of what most adults would take to be normal. My brother makes fun of me for this particular habit but after a conversation with one my friends yesterday I am confident enough to share something that I have been doing for most of the Christmas break and now that I’m back at uni: day pyjamas.

The thing about this time of year is that students will mostly be confined to their houses (or some venture to the library) but will only ever be surrounded by family members or other students in the same position. If you’re going to revise, you might as well be comfy. This means no super-skinny jeans, no fitted clothes, and for 50% of the student population, no bras (this one is optional).

Each day I will wake up, have a shower (or sometimes not bother if I’m not leaving the house or heading to the pool later…) and then put on my day pyjamas ready for another day of banging out essays or cramming in revision. You can’t get the ideas flowing if you can’t sit cross-legged on your desk chair or if you just don’t feel all that comfortable. I’ve done it a couple of times where I’ll just keep my pyjamas on but when evening comes and you’re still wearing said pyjamas it can really mess up your night-time routine. Plus, a line needs to be drawn somewhere about wearing the same set of PJs for more than 24 hours. Come on, people.

So there you have it, if you want to revise whilst still feeling a bit proud of yourself for technically getting dressed (or at least getting changed), you should try out the phenomenon that is Day Pyjamas.

Leave a Reply

